Bookmarks : Genealogy: NYC & Brooklyn

See also Full Text.

Brooklyn became a city in 1834, having absorbed other villages including Flatush. In 1855 it was the third largest city in the country. In 1898 it became a borough of New York City. Each borough is a separate county; Brooklyn is Kings County. The island of Long Island includes four counties, Kings (Brooklyn), Queens, Nassau, and Suffolk.

This page last updated 5 August 2022.

shipGo to: [Top] [Homepage] [Creek Bibliography] [Trumbull's Indian Sketches] [Creeks in WWII] [Doster Citations] [Gometz Family] [Vita]